The EBLRLA Scholarship Fund is a non-profit, charitable 501(c)(3) organization that awards scholarships to law students who live, work, or study in Alameda or Contra Costa counties. The EBLRLA Scholarship Fund has its own separate board of directors.

The East Bay La Raza Lawyers Association organizes a gala dinner to fundraise for the EBLRLA Scholarship Fund. In recent years, the EBLRLA Scholarship Fund has partnered with California ChangeLawyers℠ and others to award additional scholarships.

To donate to the EBLRLA Scholarship Fund, please visit their Donorbox page. Please direct questions about the EBLRLA Scholarship Fund to

Piedad and Raul Castro Scholarship 2022
Application Period Closed

For two years now, the East Bay La Raza Lawyers Association (EBLRLA) Scholarship Fund has invited
qualified candidates to apply for the Piedad and Raul Castro Scholarship, an annual
$5,000 scholarship funded by the Honorable Arturo Castro, Judge with the Superior
Court of Alameda County, in honor of his parents:

“This scholarship is dedicated to my parents, who, alongside countless other immigrant
families, personify the perseverance, sacrifice, and selflessness of those who are
committed to advancing future generations, with no thought or expectation of personal
gain. By giving back in their names, the spirit of their sacrifices will live on, supporting
young minds who are equally dedicated to making the world a better place.”

The Piedad and Raul Castro Scholarship will be awarded to an outstanding law
student on pace to graduate in spring 2022 and is designed to assist with expenses
related to preparing for the California Bar Exam and transitioning to formal practice as
an attorney. (Judge Castro will not be involved in the selection process.)

We anticipate announcing the recipient no later than April 1, 2022.

2022 Diversity Bar Study Scholarship Sponsored by the CLA Litigation Section
Application Period Closed

The East Bay La Raza Lawyers Association and the EBLRLA Scholarship Fund have partnered with the Litigation Section of the California Lawyers Association to present a 2022 Diversity Bar Study Scholarship in the amount of $5,000 to a law student in their final year of law school who has demonstrated an intent to pursue a career in litigation, shown commitment to serving the Latinx community, and is planning to sit for the California Bar Exam. The recipient will be chosen by March 2022.

Note: Law students are invited to join up to three sections of the California Lawyers Association (CLA) for free here.

The EBLRLA Scholarship Fund has partnered with California ChangeLawyers℠ again to award a $5,000 scholarship to a diverse* law student committed to a career in public interest and social justice who will be taking the California Bar Exam and envisions working as an attorney in California with the goal of creating a more just and representative justice system. The deadline for this year has already passed.

*Diversity includes a broad array of backgrounds and life experiences, including students from groups or with skills or attributes that are underrepresented in the legal profession, and specifically including students from socially and economically disadvantaged backgrounds, particularly those that have overcome adversity.

2022 Recipients
Natassja Urrutia – Bar Study Scholarship
Yesenia Sandoval – ChangeLawyers Scholarship
Karla Y. Martinez Rojas – California Lawyers Association (CLA), Litigation Section Scholarship
Stephanie Roque-Hurtado – Piedad & Raul Castro Scholarship

2021 Recipients
Lilian Lopez-Zepeda – Bar Study Scholarship
Jennifer Estevez – Piedad & Raul Castro Scholarship
Violeta Alvarez – ChangeLawyers Scholarship